Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Big Ten Expansion

Well the Big Ten has really never followed its name like right now the Big Ten has 11 teams and next year they will have 12 teams with the addition of Nebraska. There will be two Big Ten divisions consisting of 6 teams in each and resulting in a conference championship which extremely needed in the Big Ten. Don't laugh to hard to hard at the new division names and the new logo is not to hot either. I guess the Big Ten is trying to get hipper? I do not like it to say the least.

Leaders: Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Purdue, Illinois, and Indiana.
Legends: Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Northwestern, Michigan State, and Minnesota.

The guaranteed cross divisional rivalries start with Michigan and OSU. On top of that, Wisconsin and Minnesota, and Illinois and Northwestern preserve their annual rivalries. That leaves Penn State, Purdue, and Indiana from Leaders, and Nebraska, Iowa, and Michigan State from the Legends. Penn State will lose that terribly important Land Grant game in favor of a new rivalry with Nebraska. Meanwhile, it's a little known fact, but the Spartans and Hoosiers do have a rivalry, in which they play for the Old Brass Spittoon. That leaves the final protected rivalry as Iowa against their newly hated rival, Purdue. All things considered, I think the Big Ten did a pretty good job. Some rivalry games will no longer be an annual event. Some fans and teams travel expenditures will get much pricier. I think the Big Ten will be much more competitive in the years to come and might be the second best conference behind the SEC.

No comments:

Post a Comment